Tugas Softskill: I Do Not Love You Except Because I Love You

I Do Not Love You Except Because I Love You :
By Pablo Neruda

I do not love you except because I love you;
I go from loving to not loving you,
From waiting to not waiting for you
My heart moves from cold to fire.
I love you only because it’s you the one I love;
I hate you deeply, and hating you
Bend to you, and the measure of my changing love for you
Is that I do not see you but love you blindly.
Maybe January light will consume
My heart with its cruel
Ray, stealing my key to true calm.
In this part of the story I am the one who
Dies, the only one, and I will die of love because I love you,
Because I love you, Love, in fire and blood.

MEANING
This poetry is tells about someone who describe his feeling. His feeling to his special woman that he loves. He still waiting for her from not loving till loving her. He loves her cause she is the one that he loves.

GRAMMAR
1. Simple present tense
• I do not love you except because I love you
• My heart moves from cold to fire.

Form
[Verbs] + s/es in third person
Examples:
– He never forgets his wallet.
– The train leaves tonight.

2. Present continuous
• I go from loving to not loving you
• From waiting to not waiting for you
Form:
Positive:
subject + to be (am, is, are) + Verb – ing + object
Example : I am watching TV now

Use: Longer Actions in Progress Now
In English, “now” can mean: this second, today, this month, this year, this century, and so on. Sometimes, we use the Present Continuous to say that we are in the process of doing a longer action which is in progress; however, we might not be doing it at this exact second.
Examples: (All of these sentences can be said while eating dinner in a restaurant.)
• I am studying to become a doctor.
• I am not studying to become a dentist.
• I am reading the book Tom Sawyer.
• I am not reading any books right now.
• Are you working on any special projects at work?
• Aren’t you teaching at the university now?
Use: Repetition and Irritation with “Always”
The Present Continuous with words such as “always” or “constantly” expresses the idea that something irritating or shocking often happens. Notice that the meaning is like Simple Present, but with negative emotion. Remember to put the words “always” or “constantly” between “be” and “verb+ing.”
Examples:
• She is always coming to class late.
• He is constantly talking. I wish he would shut up.
• I don’t like them because they are always complaining.

MULTIPLE CHOICE
Present Contiuous:
1. David … a rainbow cake now.

a. Eat
b. Eating
c. Is eating
d. Was eating

2. Why …. umbrella? It is not raining now.

a. Do you use
b. You use
c. You using
d. Are you using

3. He is busy right now. He ……. his homework.

a. Did
b. Does
c. Is done
d. Is doing

4. Nayla’s friends …. visiting her mother in the hospital.

a. Are
b. Is
c. Does
d. Have

5. Be quiet! My grandmother….

a. Am sleeping
b. Is sleeping
c. Were sleeping
d. Sleep

Simple present tense:
1) Does your child … to eat all the time?

a. Wants
b. Want
c. Wanna
d. Wants

2) I do … the funeral.

a. Attends
b. Attend
c. Attended
d. Attent

3) Suzy and I … tall and skinny.

a. Do
b. Is
c. Does
d. Are

4) He often … to my gym.

a. Coming
b. Came
c. Comes
d. Come

5) You can … fresh vegetables at the farmer’s market.

a. Gets
b. Get
c. Got
d. Gotten

 

Klik here to download:

Leave a Reply

